PokerStars LIVE Manila Special: Richard Magaro wins Main Event after six-way deal; Enrico de Rosa claims two events; festival results inside

PokerStars LIVE Asia hosted its third event of the year with the Manila Special running from March 24 to 27 at Okada Manila. The weekend series featured six tournaments highlighted by the Main Event PH₱ 3M guaranteed. Like its previous turnouts, it churned up a packed house for a collective payout of PH₱ 6,323,778 (~US$ 121,415). Philippine player Richard Magaro emerged the biggest winner while Italy’s Enrico De Rosa bagged two events. Other winners were Vamerdino Magsakay, Rommel Angeles, and Daniel Trett. Check out the festival results below. 

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 10.57.52 PM

Following this event, the brand returns on May 30 to June 5 with the much awaited APPT Open Manila. Full details have yet to be disclosed but from what we know, the Main Event has a PH₱ 40,000 buy in. Other events are APPT Open Kickoff at PH₱ 15,000 entry, APPT Open National at PH₱ 20,000, and APPT Open High Roller at PH₱ 150,000. 

*All photos courtesy of PokerStars LIVE Manila

Main Event: RICHARD MAGARO – PH₱ 445,000 (~US$ 8,545)

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 7.36.59 PMRichard Magaro – Main Event champion

The Manila Special Main Event attracted a roaring 786 entries across six starting flights for a guarantee smashing prize pool of PH₱ 4,428,135 (~US$ 85,000). Among the players at the final table were highly decorated Philippine pro / WSOP bracelet holder Mike Takayama and rising local player Allan Daypuyart who was on his third finals this month. After a six way deal, both players were sidelined by local player Richard Magaro who secured his first ever victory and personal high score of PH₱ 445,000. He entered the final day wedged in the middle of the 43 player field, proceeded to carry the fourth largest stack into the final table, then claimed the title. This was only Magaro’s sixth career cash. For Takayama, his 6th place payout deal and two side event cashes gained him a combined PH₱ 427,900 (~US$ 8,215) to become the festival’s second highest earner. Outside of the final table, other players dipping in the pot were Gerardo Lubas (11th), Richard Marquez (15th), Junnie Pamplona (20th), Jose Colada (27th), and to round out the top 30, Noel Araniel. 

Dates: March 24 to 27
Buy in: PH₱ 6,600 (~US$ 126)
Guarantee: PH₱ 3,000,000 (~US$ 57,200)
Entries: 786
Prize pool: PH₱ 4,428,135
ITM: 120 places

Final table payouts

1st Richard Magaro – Philippines – PH₱ 445,000*
2nd Allan Daypuyart – Philippines – PH₱ 376,000*
3rd Michael Bueza – Philippines – PH₱ 376,000*
4th Elmer Kalaquian – Philippines – PH₱ 376,000*
5th John Matsuda – Japan – PH₱ 376,000*
6th Mike Takayama – Philippines – PH₱ 376,000*
7th Robert Esker III – USA – PH₱ 110,000
8th Richard Castillo – Philippines – PH₱ 78,000
*Six way chop

Enrico de Rosa wins two events

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 10.22.53 PMEnrico De Rosa

Although international players were still very few, at the side events Italian player Enrico De Rosa was king. De Rosa took down two events, each with buy ins of PH₱ 15K. His first win was at the Deepstack Freezeout Turbo where he bested a field of 18, then to close out the series, he topped the 8 player field of the NLH Shot Clock Freezeout. Prior to these wins, De Rosa also placed 3rd at the PH₱ 10K Freezeout Turbo to walk away with a collective PH₱ 182,800 (~US$ 3,500) payout. Based on his stat on The Hendon Mob, his cashes here pale in comparison to his accomplishments in Europe. In 2018, De Rosa placed 17th at EPT Barcelona for ~US$ 80,770 then in 2019 he reached 12th at the WPT Barcelona for ~US$ 23,300. These remain his career best scores. 

PH₱ 15K Deepstack Freezeout Turbo
Date: Friday, March 25
Buy in: PH₱ 15,000 (~US$ 286)
Entries: 18
Prize pool: PH₱ 230,472
Winner: ENRICO DE ROSA – Italy – PH₱ 96,800

NLH Shot Clock Freezeout
Date: Sunday, March 27
Buy in: PH₱ 15,000 (~US$ 286)
Entries: 8
Prize pool: PH₱ 102,432
Winner: ENRICO DE ROSA – Italy – PH₱ 51,300

Other winners

PH₱ 20K Super Knockout Hyper Turbo Freezeout

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 10.23.30 PMVamerdino Magsakay

Date: Saturday, March 26
Buy in: PH₱ 20,000 (~US$ 380)
Entries: 37
Main prize pool: PH₱ 646,020
Bounty pool: PH₱ 370,000
ITM: 6 places
Winner: VAMERDINO MAGASAKAY – Philippines – PH₱ 82,900*
2nd Marius Zalyps – Lithuania – PH₱ 75,900*
*Heads up deal / bounty wins not reflected

PH₱ 10K NLH Freezeout Turbo

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 10.22.32 PMDaniel Trett

Date: Thursday, March 24
Buy in: PH₱ 10,000 (~U$ 191)
Entries: 25
Prize pool: PH₱ 213,400
ITM: 5 places
Winner: DANIEL TRETT – UK – PH₱ 66,750*
2nd Seungchun Ju – Korea – PH₱ 66,750*
*Heads up chop

NLH Knockout

Screen Shot 2022 03 28 at 10.23.08 PMRommel Angeles

Date: Sunday, March 27
Buy in: PH₱ 5,500 (~US$ 105)
Entries: 71
Main prize pool: PH₱ 333,331
Bounty pool: PH₱ 71,000
ITM: 9 places
Winner: ROMMEL ANGELES – Philippines – PH₱ 76,800 (bounties not included)


Live Poker, News

Author: Justin Graves