Clinkscales, Simpson & Mazzola Among 2022 Wynn Signature Series winners

Clinkscales, Simpson & Mazzola Among 2022 Wynn Signature Series winners

Wynn Signature Series

From April 6-24, Wynn Poker played host to the Wynn Signature Series, which was comprised of a dozen events offering more than $1.5 million in guaranteed prize pools.

The series ultimately catered to a combined 4,401 entrants and awarded $2,324,655 in prize money. Among those to walk away with titles were Ben Palmer ($600 NLH $250K GTD for $58,262), Andrew Donabedian ($400 PLO Turbo $20K GTD for $9,772), and Tuan Mai ($400 NLH $40K GTD for $14,928), just to name a few.

Here’s a look at a few other big winners and stories from the 2022 Wynn Signature Series.

Alexander Mazzola Wins Main Event

Alexander MazzolaAlexander Mazzola

The series concluded with a $1,100 buy-in, $500K GTD NLH tournament from April 21-24. That event attracted 767 entries who created a $747,825 prize pool that was paid out to the top 83 finishers including Jesse Lonis (66th – $2,707), Cole Ferraro (60th – $3,040), Patrick Eskandar (37th – $3,913), Ping Liu ((30th – $4,461), and final table bubble boy Nikhil Gera (10th – $11,833).

The final table was comprised of some familiar faces including Joey Weissman (7th – $19,817), 1997 World Series of Poker (WSOP) Main Event runner-up John Strzemp (4th – $42,650), and Matt Affleck (3rd – $59,748).

The final two players agreed to an even heads-up chip that saw them each take home $110,376 in prize money. Jim Agate officially finished as runner-up while Alexander Mazzola claimed the trophy and title of champion.

Wynn Signature Series $1,100 NLH Final Table Results

PlacePlayerHometownPrize 1Alexander MazzolaLas Vegas, NV$110,376* 2James AgateLas Vegas, NV$110,376* 3Matt AffleckLas Vegas, NV$59,748 4John StrzempLas Vegas, NV$42,650 5Brandon FujiiLas Vegas, NV$31,857 6Raul GarzaAlton, TX$24,678 7Joey WeissmanLas Vegas, NV$19,817 8Peiwen WangIrvine, CA$16,452 9Thomas ZanotLas Vegas, NV$13,874

*Denotes heads-up deal.

Gary Simpson the Best Bounty Hunter

Gary SimpsonGary Simpson

Another major event on the schedule was the $600 buy-in, $400K GTD Wynn Mystery Bounty event from April 13-17. That tournament attracted 1,247 entrants over four starting flights, which create a $648,440 prize pool, of which $249,400 was devoted to the mystery bounty pool.

The top 135 finishers got pair a piece of the regular prize pool including Eric Baldwin (52nd – $1,651), Nikhil Gera (27th – $2,382), Mark Seif (21st – $2,716), Eric Rivkin (8th – $7,682), and Anatolii Zyrin (4th – $19,952).

After Lam Dang Nguyen bowed out in third place for $28,172, the final two players worked a deal. Eight-time WSOP Circuit ring winner David Larson ended up taking second place for $48,575 while Gary Simpson of Rancho Santa Margarita, California claim the title and $54,469 in prize money.

Wynn Signature Series $600 Mystery Bounty Final Table Results

PlacePlayerHometownPrize (not including any bounties) 1Gary SimpsonRancho Santa Margarita, CA$54,469* 2David LarsonLas Vegas, NV$48,575* 3Lam Dang NguyenGarden Grove, CA$28,172 4Anatolii ZyrinRussia$19,952 5Sebastian CremaCanada$14,756 6Jose De Los ReyesLas Vegas, NV$11,512 7Robert MarchLas Vegas, NV$9,250 8Eric RivkinLaguna Woods, CA$7,682 9Changliang DengMountain House, CA$6,482

*Denotes heads-up deal.

Rex Clinkscales Wins $400 NLH Freezeout

Rex ClinkscalesRex Clinkscales

On April 11, the $400 NLH Freezeout $25K GTD attracted 111 runners and offered up a $38,295 prize pool to the top 13 finishers. Among those to cash but fall short of the final table were Sascha Masloch (10th – $961), Gerald Ford (11th – $961), Adolfo Marquez (12th – $839), and Christopher Flint (13th – $839).

Some familiar names at the final table were Patrick Lacey (6th – $1,815), Mark Liedtke (5th – $2,259), and David “The Maven” Gutfreund (4th – $3,064). In the end, it was former poker pro Rex Clinkscales besting Stephen Decker in heads-up play to win the Wynn trophy and $11,149 top prize.

$400 NLH Freezeout Final Table Results

PlacePlayerHometownPrize 1Rex ClinkscalesLas Vegas, NV$11,149 2Stephen DeckerDenver, CO$8,000 3Josephine Garcia FlintUK$4,481 4David GutfreundLas Vegas, NV$3,064 5Mark LiedtkeLas Vegas, NV$2,259 6Patrick LaceyMarlton, NJ$1,815 7Tyler HuculakLas Vegas, NV$1,524 8Robert McMillanPrescott, AZ$1,292 9Sascha PlathGermany$1,111

Best Free to Play Slots

2022 Wynn Signature Series Winners

*DateTournamentEntriesPrize PoolWinnerHometown/CountryPrize*       6-Apr$400 Seniors NLH $40K GTD205$70,725Robert GoldsteinLas Vegas, NV$16,256       10-Apr$400 NLH $40K GTD146$50,370Mikal SmithChandler, AZ$15,191       April 7-10$600 NLH $250K GTD697$362,440Ben PalmerLas Vegas, NV$58,262       9-Apr$400 PLO Turbo $20K GTD67$23,115Andrew DonabedianLas Vegas, NV$9,772       11-Apr$400 NLH Freezeout $25K GTD111$38,295Rex ClinkscalesLas Vegas, NV$11,149       13-Apr$600 NLH Mystery Bounty $400K GTD1,247$648,440Gary SimpsonRancho Santa Margarita, CA$54,469       12-Apr$400 Limit Omaha 8/B $25K GTD94$32,430Hicham ChamiLas Vegas, NV$10,739       12-Apr$400 NLH $40K GTD146$50,370Jeffrey AllenSanta Rosa, CA$12,605       April 18-21$400 NLH $100K GTD562$193,890Vincent FreemanMemphis, TN$39,186       20-Apr$400 NLH $3K Survivor $100 Bounty171$41,89513 WinnersN/A$3,000       April 21-24$1,100 NLH $500K GTD767$747,825Alexander MazzolaLas Vegas, NV$110,376       24-Apr$400 NLH $40K GTD188$64,860Tuan MaiSan Jose, CA$14,928      

The Wynn released the schedule for the 2022 Wynn Summer Classic, which is scheduled to take place from May 31-July 20 alongside the 2022 World Series of Poker (WSOP) on the same dates. Click here for more details.

Name Surname

Chad Holloway

Executive Editor U.S.

Executive Editor US, PokerNews Podcast co-host & 2013 WSOP Bracelet Winner.

Author: Justin Graves